PowerPoint – fails fast

I was formatting the master slides of a slide deck that I was preparing for a training of mine. I wanted to apply background color to a master slide. I got this:

HardwareMonitorWindow: POWERPNT.EXE – Fail Fast Exception

[Critical icon] A fail fast exception occurred. Exception handlers will not be invoked and the process will be terminated immediately.

OK

When I clicked OK, PowerPoint disappeared. It really failed fast.

According to Microsoft, there is a function – https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/dd941688(v=vs.85).aspx – which you call “…if your application is in a bad state and you want to terminate the application immediately…”.

Things just crash sometimes. Notifying users how they crash might make sense sometimes. Not in this case, I think.

Fix

I would rather not see any message.

4 November 2016 | PowerPoint

Leave a Reply

