Apple does not allow me to post on their support community site

Looks like this will be an I-am-sick-of-Apple day. Yesterday, my pocked device (an iPhone 6s) upgraded to iOS 10.2.1 (14D27). The Health application, which I semi-happily use to count my steps started showing kilometers instead of steps. I was not able to find how to switch back to steps. So I started searching on the web – did not find anything. Then I tried to ask Apple Support – found out that Apple do not want me to contact them; they redirect me to my carrier. I finally decided to ask the Apple community support – this seemed to be the only remaining option. I failed that too.

I went to the Apple community place, agreed with their Apple Support Communities Use Agreement, and started filing my question. Here is what I wrote:

Hi.

After my phone (iPhone 6s) upgraded to iOS 10.2.1 (14D27), the Health application started showing kilometers instead of steps. I was not able to find how to switch back to steps. Is there a way to change to steps, instead of miles or kilometers?

Thanks

Then I filled out a few boxes identifying my device and clicked a Post button. I got a message below the title

! You are not allowed to create or update this content

Problems

The message does not help me. It is useless. I do not know what I am supposed to do to post my question.

Fix

Do not just tell users that they do not have permission to perform a certain action. Tell them why and tell them what to do to get the permission.

Follow up

I read the Terms of Use. I used local search to look for the word “Post”. There, point 1.13 instructs me to check the Using Apple Support Communities site when I have problems. There a search for “You are not allowed to create or update this content“ returns a number of threads from the last 3-4 years. The earliest seems to be from September 2014.

I read through the posts – I found out that according to users, the Apple communities site is poorly implemented and full of such glitches. In short, oftentimes the site does not know what it is doing. There is no single way of dealing with the problem. The most common advice seems to be to log out and in – this did not work for me.

I gave up posting there. Thank you Apple for the wonderful experience.

31 January 2017 | Apple Support Communities

Leave a Reply

